- Identity Check: Which CLE This Sheet Covers
- The Numbers at a Glance
- Assessment Format: What Is and Isn't Known
- The Five Course Subjects, Condensed
- Certification Submissions Checklist
- Scope Boundaries to Memorize
- Timeline Conflicts to Verify
- Money and Renewal Cheat Block
- Domain Order for a Short Study Plan
- Quick FAQ
- The multiple-choice assessment requires at least 85%; the essay is graded pass/fail, and the Scope of Practice pretest requires 100%.
- CAPPA describes its certification exams as open book, but item count, time limit and domain weights are not publicly specified.
- The package costs $1,200 plus personal books; annual membership is $75, and renewal every three years costs $125.
- The CLE role is education and support with referrals, not clinical diagnosis, treatment or lactation-consultant licensure.
Identity Check: Which CLE This Sheet Covers
This page covers the Certified Lactation Educator (CLE) offered through the Childbirth and Postpartum Professional Association (CAPPA), with coursework and assessments administered through CAPPA Academy. It is an educator credential. It prepares you to teach, support and refer families, not to practice clinically. If you are comparing it to other lactation credentials, CAPPA's separate Community Lactation Educator LE(C) credential, the CLC and the IBCLC are all distinct programs with their own requirements, and nothing below applies to them.
If you are new to the credential, start with What Is CLE Certification? for the big picture, then come back here for the one-page review. When you are ready to test yourself, the CLE practice test is the fastest way to find weak spots.
The Numbers at a Glance
These are the figures worth memorizing. Every one comes from CAPPA's public pages as reviewed for this article.
| Item | What to Know |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | CAPPA (coursework and assessments through CAPPA Academy) |
| Minimum age | 18 |
| Training format | Three days / 24 hours, live virtual or in person |
| Advertised package | $1,200 USD (training and certification pathway); personal books extra |
| Membership | Active membership required; $75 per year, with a $75 first-training discount for new members |
| Multiple-choice assessment | At least 85% to pass |
| Essay | Pass/fail |
| Scope of Practice pretest | 100% required |
| Renewal cycle | Every three years |
| Recertification fee | $125 |
| Reinstatement (within 12 months of expiration, if eligible) | $300 |
For a full pricing walkthrough, see CLE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for eligibility details see CLE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Assessment Format: What Is and Isn't Known
What CAPPA Confirms
- A multiple-choice certification assessment with a threshold of at least 85%.
- A separate essay component, graded pass/fail.
- A Scope of Practice pretest that must be passed at 100%.
- CAPPA's FAQ describes its certification exams as open book.
What Stays Unknown
Neither current source specifies the multiple-choice item count, a timed-exam limit, the scored/unscored split, a public pass rate or official domain weights. Treat anyone who quotes those numbers with suspicion. This guide does not invent them, and the practice questions on this site allocate topics editorially, not according to an official blueprint. Our write-ups on CLE pass rate and CLE passing score explain how to reason about these gaps without guessing.
The Five Course Subjects, Condensed
The five domains below mirror CAPPA's current "What You'll Learn" course headings. They are unweighted preparation subjects, not an official exam blueprint. For a deeper dive on each, read CLE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.
Domain 1: The Role of a Lactation Educator & Professional Scope of Practice
The foundation of the credential, and the topic behind the 100% pretest.
- Educators teach, support and refer; they do not diagnose or treat.
- Know when a situation calls for referral to a lactation consultant, physician or other provider.
- Understand CAPPA policies you agree to at certification.
Domain 2: Anatomy & Physiology of Breastfeeding
The knowledge base you will use to explain how lactation works in plain language.
- Breast structure and milk production concepts.
- How milk removal and infant feeding patterns relate to supply.
- Connecting normal physiology to what families observe at home.
Domain 3: Common Breastfeeding Challenges & Evidence-Based Solutions
Scenario territory: recognize a common concern, offer evidence-based education, and know where your role ends.
- Distinguish concerns an educator can address through teaching from those requiring referral.
- Ground your answers in evidence, which ties directly to the research-comparison requirement.
Domain 4: Infant Feeding Education & Curriculum Development
The teaching side of the credential, and the reason you submit a lesson with an outline and curriculum.
- Structuring a class or lesson with clear objectives.
- Adapting content to learners and settings.
Domain 5: Supporting Diverse Families & Community-Based Resources
Culturally responsive support and knowing the local landscape.
- Meeting families where they are, without assumptions.
- Building and using a local referral list.
Certification Submissions Checklist
The CLE is not only an exam. Certification depends on a set of requirements you complete alongside the training. Use this as a tracking list:
- Assigned reading completed.
- Scope of Practice pretest passed at 100%.
- Support-group observation completed.
- Lactation-consultation observation (or the approved video alternative).
- Comparison of two research studies.
- Local referral list assembled.
- Two professional recommendations collected.
- Teaching submission: one 30-minute lesson or two 15-minute lessons, with an outline and curriculum.
- Agreement to CAPPA policies.
- Multiple-choice assessment at 85% or higher, plus the pass/fail essay.
Key Takeaway
Start the slow items first. Recommendations and observations depend on other people's schedules, so request them early and leave the assessment for when everything else is moving. The CLE Study Guide shows how to sequence this alongside your coursework.
Scope Boundaries to Memorize
Scope of Practice is the single highest-stakes topic, since it carries a 100% pretest requirement. Know these boundaries cold:
- The CLE is an education and support role.
- It requires clinical referrals when a situation exceeds educator scope.
- It does not confer lactation-consultant licensure.
- It does not authorize clinical diagnosis or treatment.
Scenario questions often test whether you stay in your lane. If a family describes something that sounds clinical, the correct instinct is to educate within scope and refer, not to treat. This boundary also shapes the job market: roles that value an educator credential tend to be teaching, support and community-facing, as covered in CLE Jobs and CLE Salary Guide 2026.
Timeline Conflicts to Verify
CAPPA's public pages are not perfectly consistent, and a good cheat sheet flags that instead of hiding it.
| Topic | Conflict | What to Do |
|---|---|---|
| Training length | The current offer says 24 hours over 3 days; a lower hospital-administrator section retains 20-hour wording. | Follow the offer attached to your enrollment. |
| Completion deadline | The enrollment summary says within 1 year of training; detailed requirements on the same page say 2 years. | Confirm the terms of your specific cohort in writing. |
Money and Renewal Cheat Block
Upfront Costs
- $1,200 for the advertised package (training and certification pathway).
- Personal required books cost extra.
- $75 annual membership, with a $75 first-training discount available to new members.
Every Three Years
Renewal asks for more than a fee. To recertify you must:
- Maintain your membership.
- Complete the recertification course.
- Document 15 CEUs, with at least 10 directly matching the credential's scope.
- Read 10 relevant peer-reviewed studies.
- Accept current policies.
- Pay $125.
If the credential lapses, eligible reinstatement within 12 months of expiration costs $300, which is more than double the standard renewal fee. Whether the investment pays off depends on your goals; Is the CLE Certification Worth It? walks through that decision.
Domain Order for a Short Study Plan
You do not need a generic template here, just a sensible order tied to how this credential is built.
Scope First
- Master Domain 1 until the 100% pretest feels routine.
- Request your two recommendations and schedule observations.
Science and Scenarios
- Review Domain 2 (anatomy and physiology), then Domain 3 (challenges and evidence-based solutions).
- Choose your two research studies while Domain 3 is fresh.
Teaching and Community
- Draft your lesson outline and curriculum (Domain 4).
- Build your local referral list (Domain 5).
Assessment Readiness
- Organize and tab your open-book materials.
- Run timed scenario sets on the CLE practice test and review every miss against your notes.
Quick FAQ
At least 85%. The essay is separate and graded pass/fail, and the Scope of Practice pretest requires 100%. Details are in CLE Passing Score 2026.
CAPPA's FAQ describes its certification exams as open book. The item count and any time limit are not publicly specified, so organize your materials and practice applying concepts quickly.
No. It is an education and support credential that requires clinical referrals. It does not confer lactation-consultant licensure or authorize clinical diagnosis or treatment.
Every three years. You maintain membership, complete the recertification course, document 15 CEUs (at least 10 matching the credential's scope), read 10 peer-reviewed studies, accept current policies and pay $125.
CAPPA's pages state both 1 year and 2 years in different places, so confirm the deadline for your enrollment cohort. For broader context on the credential itself, see CLE Certification and CLE Training.